Holidays and what they’re worth.

Merry Christmas to all…

This has been a tumultuous year for many people, many things have happened, and before the year goes out many more things will happen still.

I’d like to say that I’ve tried to keep it all together. I’d like to say that I do the best that I can. I know I haven’t, so I won’t. I’ve failed in a lot of respects, and succeeded in others. I’ve let my anger get the better of me at times and I’ve seen others do the same.

We saw the passing of the “end of the Mayan Calendar” and the supposed end of days…. We’ve seen such chaos as mass shootings and wild hurricanes…. And with so much behind us, I recognize that we can’t ignore it, lest we dare to repeat it again. Yet still I see folks hanging onto the relics and ways of the past as if they are the only way forwards.  Is it wrong, hypocritical even, of me to say we should look to the past when people cling so horribly to it?

I don’t know. I’m just a kid in a position of little power. What right do I have to say things when most people would look at me and say “What do you know?” Well, what I do know is very little, and yet a lot, and yet only a mediocre offering of the world’s knowledgebase.

I know absolutely nothing of importance to the world at large. It’s… it’s something I’m 0K with, but even so, it’s something many aren’t. URU has had it’s ups and downs, and will continue to have them. We’ve faced so much and so little…

They say that the new years break is a time for fresh starts. So I’ll agree.

There is a time coming, a stage being set… A mysterious place, a known word… But while we must acknowledge the past so that we do not repeat it, we must STRIVE to ignore it under the penalty of clinging and intentionally repeating.

I feel that as this Christmas, and this accursed year, rolls behind us that we must look towards a brighter future. A brighter world. And I’ll admit that while the world at large will ignore these words of mine, there are those few that will listen… and those few that listen will be the ones to change the world in those almost imperceptible ways that make the grand cosmic clock ‘t1ck t0ck‘ away.

There are those that will Break a few Heads to try to keep things in “check mate“, but I think that as long as we keep on our path, finding a way, making a home… When destruction comes to HoNk away at us, let’s just laugh right back at it.

Maybe these are just the rantings of a mad-man, or maybe I’m just writing on a tangent fueled by a headache?  Whatever the case, I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

~Calum Traveler, HN Manager

Leave a Reply

