Hertiage Night: Memoryable Threads Speach

[Links to the threads I talked about can be found at the bottom or this post.]

This is what I said at Heritage Night:

Hello, and welcome once again to Heritage Night. Today’s topic is ‘memorable forum threads.’ Now for those of you who don’t know, the forums for this game can be found here: http://mystonline.com/forums. I suggest you check it out. The Myst Online forums were started in 2007 along with the first incarnation of “Myst Online Uru Live.

Over the years, there have been a number of noteworthy threads on the forums. The community and moderators have selected a list of their favourite threads. The name of this thread is ‘Memorable Thread Collection’; it’s found in the Information & Resource Center. Don’t worry because I will give all the URLs on the Heritage Night blog at heritagenight.wordpress.com.

Starting off, I’d like to talk about the ‘Is it More Yet?’ thread. To understand this thread, you have to know what MORE is. MORE or Myst Online Restoration Experiment was a proposal by Cyan to continue URU after the talks of cancellation in 2007. The proposal included new content, easy-to-use tools to allow people to make content, and the return to Cavern for free. While waiting for MORE, people starting ‘writing’ this thread. The thread is 140 pages long and became very silly, which is what made it memorable. The thread was locked around the time when MOULa came out, probably since MOULa (though NOT MORE) is a good enough substitute. I suggest you read a bit of the thread, but it’s not necessary to read through the whole thing. It’s interesting to see how silly a bunch of fans of a very serious game can be.

Ki toons – this a very memorable thread. A user made a bunch of comics (like one finds in the Saturday morning paper) about Cavern life. It’s only 21 pages (mostly comments of how amazing it is) and is definitely worth a look. Though I have to point out that some of the cartoons have minor spoilers and some,

This is what I said at Heritage Night:

Hello, and welcome once again to Heritage Night. Today’s topic is ‘memorable forum threads.’ Now for those of you who don’t know, the forums for this game can be found here: http://mystonline.com/forums. I suggest you check it out. The Myst Online forums were started in 2007 along with the first incarnation of “Myst Online Uru Live.

Over the years, there have been a number of noteworthy threads on the forums. The community and moderators have selected a list of their favourite threads. The name of this thread is ‘Memorable Thread Collection’; it’s found in the Information & Resource Center. Don’t worry because I will give all the URLs on the Heritage Night blog at heritagenight.wordpress.com.

Starting off, I’d like to talk about the ‘Is it More Yet?’ thread. To understand this thread, you have to know what MORE is. MORE or Myst Online Restoration Experiment was a proposal by Cyan to continue URU after the talks of cancellation in 2007. The proposal included new content, easy-to-use tools to allow people to make content, and the return to Cavern for free. While waiting for MORE, people starting ‘writing’ this thread. The thread is 140 pages long and became very silly, which is what made it memorable. The thread was locked around the time when MOULa came out, probably since MOULa (though NOT MORE) is a good enough substitute. I suggest you read a bit of the thread, but it’s not necessary to read through the whole thing. It’s interesting to see how silly a bunch of fans of a very serious game can be.

Ki toons – this a very memorable thread. A user made a bunch of comics (like one finds in the Saturday morning paper) about Cavern life. It’s only 21 pages (mostly comments of how amazing it is) and is definitely worth a look. Though I have to point out that some of the cartoons have minor spoilers and some, sadly, only make sense if you know the 2007 history, but it’s still worth the look.

BOMB in the CITY! Help deactivate it! – earlier this year, I talked about OHB and the BOMB. As a refresher, OHB put one of his ‘robots’ in the cavern who threatened to blow it up. It was up to explorers to solve a puzzle and save the day. The puzzle was posted in this thread. Now it was really fun to see it unfold, but I’m sure it would also be fun to read over. It’s only 9 pages, plus you can try and solve the puzzle before reading the solution.

There are a lot of threads I could put on this list, but only so much time, so I will now talk about three threads with a similar ‘theme’, telling a story.

Surprise in Minkata – The user, Norfren, has made a sort of interactive story. He posts a narration post, followed by ‘player’ posts requesting what to do. Each of Norfren’s posts is accompanied by a high quality render of the age. Throughout the story, hidden stuff is found in the age Minkata. (I won’t say what and spoil the surprise). This story is 67 pages long. While in college, I bookmarked my spot and read through the whole thing during 10 minute breaks. I would read a narration section, decide what I would do, and skip forward to the next narration section. It’s definitely worth your time. Also, there were a couple of interactive sections at the end. After reading through it, I wished that I could make 3D render so I could make my own story. :(

‘Beyond Teladen’ is another story thread (also with its own renders). The author, Guybrush Threepwood, takes us to new, unexplored areas of Teladen. It was in the same vein as ‘Surprise in Minkata’. Unfortunately, Guybrush has gotten busy and the story has ended in the middle.

I didn’t have a forum account in 2007, so I could not participate in ‘Surprise in Minkata,’ but I did participate in ‘Beyond Teladen.’ I had so much fun that I wished it would go on. Later, I realized that I could tell my own story, a text adventure, so I don’t have to make any 3d renders[models]  :). I did this when I wrote ‘Myst: the comedy text-adventure’.

Myst: the comedy text-adventure – This thread is very memorable as well as very funny. The party is sent on a quest to find five crystals, located in five very unique ages. Why a comedy, you might ask. The answer is: since it’s different, fun, and a bit easier (since not everything has to make sense :)) . By the way, my text-adventures made me interested in telling stories, which is one of the things that lead me to taking over Heritage Night.(but I will talk more about that in a future Heritage Night).

Well, that’s it for memorable threads for now. Thanks for listening and thank you and your neighbours for making threads that are memorable in the first place! I will take questions in a moment, but first some bad news related to Heritage Night. At the last AGM, I talked about a ‘play idea’ I had, but the announcement was a bit premature. I hadn’t actually looked at the opening of MOUL(2007), but now that I have and I’ve found that it’s not good (exciting) material for what I want to do.  I’ve shelved the idea for now, sorry. Also, I am a bit busy in the next couple of weeks with ‘summer stuff’, so there may not be a July Heritage Night, as my next event is another ‘Hood Of Illusions’ one.

Ok, at this time, I will take questions now before my BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!

(06/28 15:27:55) Chat.log started…
(06/28 15:28:02)  Acorn1: I asked who the artist was for the comics
(06/28 15:28:07)  JamieWithHNKey: Ok se I will be recoding this part for the blog.
(06/28 15:28:40)  JamieWithHNKey: The KiToons where drawn by Thend.
(06/28 15:28:48)  Acorn1: Thank you
(06/28 15:28:50)  JamieWithHNKey: Any other questionts?
(06/28 15:28:59)  Boywhith: I repeat mine…
(06/28 15:29:00)  radioflux: I love the ‘Mysterious Mynds’ threads
(06/28 15:29:10)  radioflux: great storytelling
(06/28 15:29:24)  Boywhith: You will give the links where we can find these stories?
(06/28 15:29:25)  JamieWithHNKey: I seem to have miseed your question Boywith
(06/28 15:30:16)  JamieWithHNKey: The stories are all on the Myst Online forums, I will give all the links on the Hertiage Night blog: heritagenight.wordpress.com.
(06/28 15:30:42)  JamieWithHNKey: Any other questionts?
(06/28 15:30:46)  Boywhith: Thank you! The are some many bloggs..
(06/28 15:31:09)  Boywhith: sometimes you can’t see the forest because of the trees…
(06/28 15:31:15)  JamieWithHNKey: True :)
(06/28 15:31:28)  Acorn1: just a comment: your comedy adventure was what got me posting on the forums, Jamie
(06/28 15:31:55)  Acorn1: i was reading it and seeing people fail to pick up the clues that I HAD to join in!
(06/28 15:32:10)  JamieWithHNKey: Yes you’ve told me that before, that’s cool to hear!
(06/28 15:32:29)  JamieWithHNKey: Also Hertiage Night is mentioned in the
(06/28 15:32:41)  JamieWithHNKey: ‘Myste Online’ articale on Wikepdia!
(06/28 15:33:30)  JamieWithHNKey: Any other questionts?
(06/28 15:34:14)  JamieWithHNKey: i gues not

And now its time for my big announcement! My third text-adventure will start July 1st ,2014! It will include the following features:
– An advanced moral system, in which you must find the ‘best way’ to do something, not just ‘push 1 to be rude, push 2 to be kind’.
-Boopies (currency) will actually have an in-game use.
– There will be 2 or 3 events on ‘The Gehn Shard’ (so you might want to sign up for an account on the shard.)
– The story will be a bit darker/deeper.
Also I have vague plans for 2 more adventures! I hope to see you on the forums!
Here are the threads I talked about:
Memorable Thread Collection – http://mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=339918#p339918

Is It More Yet? -http://mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=16404

Ki toons – http://mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4312

Surprise in Minkata – http://mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13155&highlight=minkata

Myst: the comedy text-adventure: http://mystonline.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=26086

Leave a Reply

